Users

Uyuni Administrators can add new users, grant permissions, and deactivate or delete users. If you are managing a large number of users, you can assign users to system groups to manage permissions at a group level. You can also change the system defaults for the Web UI, including language and theme defaults.

The Users menu is only available if you are logged in with a Uyuni administrator account.

To manage Uyuni users, navigate to Users  User List  All to see all users in your Uyuni Server. Each user in the list shows the username, real name, assigned roles, the date the user last signed in, and the current status of the user. Click btn:Create User to create a new user account. Click the username to go to the User Details page.

To add new users to your organization, click Create User, complete the details for the new user, and click Create Login.

You can deactivate or delete user accounts if they are no longer required. Deactivated user accounts can be reactivated at any time. Deleted user accounts are not visible, and cannot be retrieved.

Users can deactivate their own accounts. However, if users have an administrator role, the role must be removed before the account can be deactivated.

Deactivated users cannot log in to the Uyuni Web UI or schedule any actions. Actions scheduled by a user prior to their deactivation remain in the action queue. Deactivated users can be reactivated by Uyuni administrators.

Users can hold multiple administrator roles, and there can be more than one user holding any administrator role at any time. There must always be at least one active Uyuni Administrator.

Table 1. User Administrator Role Permissions
Role Name Description

System Group User

Standard role associated with all users.

Uyuni Administrator

Can perform all functions, including changing privileges of other users.

Organization Administrator

Manages activation keys, configurations, channels, and system groups.

Activation Key Administrator

Manages activation keys.

Image Administrator

Manages image profiles, builds, and stores.

Configuration Administrator

Manages system configuration.

Channel Administrator

Manages software channels, including making channels globally subscribable, and creating new channels.

System Group Administrator

Manages systems groups, including creating and deleting system groups, adding clients to existing groups, and managing user access to groups.

User Permissions and Systems

If you have created system groups to manage your clients, you can assign groups to users for them to manage.

To assign a user to a system group, navigate to Users  User List, click the username to edit, and go to the System Groups tab. Check the groups to assign, and click btn:Update Defaults.

You can also select one or more default system groups for a user. When the user registers a new client, it is assigned to the chosen system group by default. This allows the user to immediately access the newly registered client.

To manage external groups, navigate to Users  System Group Configuration, and go to the External Authentication tab. Click Create External Group to create a new external group. Give the group a name, and assign it to the appropriate system group.

For more information about system groups, see reference:systems/system-groups.adoc.

To see the individual clients a user can administer, navigate to Users  User List, click the username to edit, and go to the Systems tab. To carry out bulk tasks, you can select clients from the list to add them to the system set manager.

For more information about the system set manager, see client-configuration:system-set-manager.adoc.

Users and Channel Permissions

You can assign users to software channels within your organization either as a subscriber that consumes content from channels, or as an administrator, who can manage the channels themselves.

To subscribe a user to a channel, navigate to Users  User List, click the username to edit, and go to the Channel Permissions  Subscription tab. Check the channels to assign, and click btn:Update Permissions.

To grant a user channel management permissions, navigate to Users  User List, click the username to edit, and go to the Channel Permissions  Management tab. Check the channels to assign, and click btn:Update Permissions.

Some channels in the list might not be subscribable. This is usually because of the users administrator status, or the channels global settings.

User Default Language

When you create a new user, you can choose which language to use for the Web UI. After a user has been created, you can change the language by navigating to Home  My Preferences.

The default language is set in the rhn.conf configuration file. To change the default language, open the /etc/rhn/rhn.conf file and add or edit this line:

web.locale = <LANGCODE>

If the parameter is not set, the default language is en_US.

These languages are available in Uyuni:

Table 2. Available Language Codes
Language code Language Dialect

bn_IN

Bangla

India

ca

Catalan

de

German

en_US

English

United States

es

Spanish

fr

French

gu

Gujarati

hi

Hindi

it

Italian

ja

Japanese

ko

Korean

pa

Punjabi

pt

Portuguese

pt_BR

Portuguese

Brazil

ru

Russian

ta

Tamil

zh_CN

Chinese

Mainland, Simplified

zh_TW

Chinese

Taiwan, Traditional

Translations in Uyuni are provided by the community, and could be incorrect or incomplete. Where a translation is not available, the Web UI defaults to English (en_US).

User Default Interface Theme

By default, the Uyuni Web UI uses the theme appropriate to the product you have installed. You can change the theme to reflect the Uyuni or SUSE Manager colors. The SUSE Manager theme also has a dark option available.

You can change the default theme in the rhn.conf configuration file. To change the default theme, open the /etc/rhn/rhn.conf file and add or edit this line:

web.theme_default = <THEME>
Table 3. Available WebUI Themes
Theme Name Colors Style

susemanager-light

SUSE Manager

Light

susemanager-dark

SUSE Manager

Dark

uyuni

Uyuni

Light